Skip to main content

 

Affirm Merchant Help

Prequalification Overview

Prequalification lets your customers shop with confidence by allowing them to discover how much they qualify to spend with Affirm on your site early in their shopping process. Shoppers who used Prequalification spent an average of up to 30% more per transaction — on top of the existing Affirm AOV lift.

How Prequalification works

Add the Affirm Prequalification text or button anywhere on your site mentions Affirm, such as the product page, category page, payment page, or home page. When a customer clicks on it, they’ll see an educational modal where they can complete a simple application that will tell them how much they qualify to spend with Affirm on your site. After completing the application and finishing shopping, the pre-qualified amount is automatically applied at checkout when they select Affirm as their payment option.

image1.png

Add Prequalification to your site

When you use the current version of Affirm promotional messaging, all messaging and educational modals on product pages have prequalification enabled by default. You can work with your Client Success Manager to change this or include it on other pages. Click here for more information about adding Affirm promotional messaging. If you want to add Prequalification but can’t upgrade your Affirm promotional messaging yet, please contact your Client Success Manager.

Prequalification customer flow

Prequal.gif

  1. The customer clicks the Prequalification messaging
  2. The customer sees an educational modal with additional information
  3. The customer clicks See if you qualify
  4. The customer signs in or creates a new Affirm account
  5. The customer verifies their income if it's their first time at this merchant
  6. The customer sees amount their prequalified amount and receives an email and SMS

Email:

Screen Shot 2019-04-15 at 10.13.03 PM.png

SMS:

text-prequal.png

After completing the application and finishing shopping, the pre-qualified amount is automatically applied at checkout when they select Affirm as their payment option. The prequalification amount only applies to the customer's next checkout attempt at your store. If a customer cancels the transaction, they'll need to get prequalified again.

  • Was this article helpful?